My Review of An Exaltation of Larks by Suanne Laqueur

I have exactly 3 favorite authors. I LOVE them. I LOVE their writing, and I’ll inhale anything they put out there. Anything. If they’ve got old post it notes or shopping lists lying around that t29637128hey want to stick on eBay…sold. I’ve read all of their books, and for the most part, none of them have dipped below 4 stars.

That being said, there is high probability I’m going to love anything new I read from them.

Suanne Laqueur is one of the aforementioned writers, and I am fortunate to have had the opportunity to read her latest work. The fact that it’s her signature style of writing is going to shoot it into 4-star territory right off the bat. Whether or not the book gains a star, loses a star, or stays still at 4 depends on the story itself as well as the execution. It can go either way, but based on my love of The Fish Tales, it’s unlikely it will drop.

It didn’t.

An Exaltation of Larks is not an epic romance like The Fish Tales, but it is epic. It’s a tragic family saga that’s spans three decades.

From the blurb:
Alex, Valerie and Jav meet first in their twenties, with a sudden attraction each finds strange and compelling. When they meet again in their forties, they discover not only is their bond still strong, but their life experiences are strangely similar. All have been shaped by separate 9/11’s, and their unfinished business from the past will change everything they know about love, loyalty and friendship.

Their story is fascinating, sometimes heartbreaking, and real. Their relationships are enviable (and at times, smoking hot) and provide a high dose of romance that kept me swooning.

But, what took Larks from four to five stars wasn’t the romance or even the brilliant writing. It was the feelings it evoked in me from the very first page. Filled with beautiful highs and heartbreaking lows, it captivated me. It also disturbed me, charmed me, broke and fixed me. It exalted me.

I’ve come to the conclusion that reading a Suanne Laqueur book is, and will always be, an involved, emotional experience. It’s not a simple pastime. If you pick up one of her books, be prepared to feel everything.

Her storytelling capabilities are genius. Her writing is poetic. Words spill onto her pages in sentences that make my heart clench and swell, and my eyes water.

I loved The Fish Tales. I miss The Fish Tales. But a few chapters into Larks, and I thought, Well, here you are.

Here I am, it whispered back.

6 beautiful stars!

 

Leave a Reply

