That one time…at book camp…

Kick up your feet and get comfy because here’s my super detailed and lengthy play-by-play of RT Atlanta:

Arrived. Took classes. Ate at Sway. Bought books. Fangirled. Ate at Sway again. Fangirled again. Took more classes. Refused to eat at Sway again. Ate at Sway again. Flew home. Cried.

Seriously though, RT Atlanta was one of the best experiences of my book loving life. And while I’d like to give you a super detailed and lengthy play-by-play, I’m going to spare you—and myself—because…deadline.

But I will say this: If you love books, if you write books, want to write books, read books, or have ever seen a book in your life, go to RT Reno.

666

And now that I’ve convinced you, here are the top 5 things you need to know before your trip:

1.) Packing light is for boys and backpackers, so don’t bother. Spend your pre-con days lifting weights and dragging rolling bags of bricks around your house for practice.

2.) Be prepared for heartache. Checking in books at the airport is harder than sending kids off to college.

3.) People who drive tend to have full bars in their rooms. Make friends.

4.) If you want people to think you’re a writer, dye your hair blue. I swear, if you have blue hair, no one will even notice the color of your badge.

5.) Think you’re too cool for a selfie stick? You’re not. Bring one.

222

The truth is, it doesn’t matter what you pack or if you decide to dye your hair pink instead of blue or if you cry at the airport.

It’s the people you meet that makes an experience like RT special, and I made some seriously stalkable new friends. The romance community is a warm and welcoming place, and I’m so happy to be a part of it, as a reader, as a fangirl, and as an “aspiring writer” with an orange badge and normal colored hair.

And is it just me, or is anybody else jonesing for a Sway grilled cheese about now?

For more of my ramblings on boys, books, and booze, plus a chance to win some awesome prizes, signup for my newsletter!

Leave a Reply

